Jonathan Deans

Jonathan is a dual citizen of USA and UK and over the course of his career has focused his passion for sound on live entertainment.

Jonathan is currently working on The Lonely Few at the Newman Mills Theatre.

Recent productions include: Redwood (La Jolla Playhouse), Hippest Trip - The Soul Train Musical (A.C.T) and Buena Vista Social Club (Atlantic Theatre).

His theatrical credits span across Broadway, the West End and many other worldwide locations, including: White Girl in Danger, Ain't No Mo, 1776, Bhangin' It, Anything Goes, Jagged Little Pill (Tony Nomination), PY1-Lune Rouge, ExtraOrdinary, War of the Worlds, The Tempest, Waitress, Red Velvet, Invisible Thread, Heart of Robin Hood, Finding Neverland, Kiss me Kate, Pippin (Tony Nomination) Priscilla Queen of the Desert, Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark, La Cage aux Folles (Tony and Drama Desk Nomination), Young Frankenstein, The Pirate Queen, Lestat, Taboo, Follies, A Second Chance, Carrie (Drama Desk Nomination), Parade (Drama Desk Nomination), Seussical, Beauty and the Beast, Music Man, Fosse, Candide, King David, Ragtime and many more musicals, plays and operas, including his residency at the Royal Opera House and LA Opera.

Cirque du Soleil productions are Drawn to Life, R.U.N, Michael Jackson’s ONE, LOVE, ELVIS, Believe, Mindfreak, Zumanity, KA, O, La Nouba, Ovo, Kooza, Wintuk, Corteo, Mystere and Saltimbanco.

He began his sound career at Pye and Morgan recording studios in London, where he worked for several years before moving to the sound department at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden. A few years later Jonathan started to work on musical productions in the West End as a mixing engineer and then later as Sound Designer.

Jonathan has designed numerous permanent sound installations and attractions around the world and continues to consult with manufacturers, presenting new ideas for the industry. As well as having received nominations, recognitions and awards such as Drama Desk, Tony, Dora, LDI, Ovation he was presented with the USITT award, Distinguished Sound Designer.